

NZ Workplace Health & Safety Awards 2025: finalists announced

AUCKLAND, New Zealand, 7 May 2025

The finalists in the New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Awards for 2025 have been decided. The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Viaduct Events Centre in Auckland on 17 June.

The awards are organised by Thomson Reuters, publisher of Safeguard magazine, and proudly supported by WorkSafe New Zealand and ACC.

Lifetime Achievement awards will be presented to academic Felicity Lamm and business leader George Adams.

Since their inception in 2005 the awards have become established as the annual highlight for everyone involved in the prevention of work injury and ill-health.

Peter Bateman, Safeguard editor and convenor of the five-person judging panel, says this year's record number of entries – a little over 200 – is one demonstration of how much the Awards have come to mean in the 20 years since they were first offered in 2005.

"Getting through to be a finalist in the face of some stiff competition is certainly worth celebrating. Over the years we have become aware that to win a category is regarded as a significant achievement which can have valuable flow-on effects: it enhances an organisation's reputation, it stimulates their people to do even better, and for individuals it can be career-defining."

The category finalists, in alphabetic order within category, are:

SAFETY (sponsored by Dentons)

- Auckland Transport
- C3
- Fonterra Whareroa
- Port of Tauranga

HEALTH (sponsored by HSI Donesafe)

- AsureQuality
- Auckland Transport
- Laminex NZ
- Stevenson Aggregates

WELLBEING (sponsored by Vitae)

- ElectroNet Group
- Foodstuffs North Island
- Link Alliance
- New Zealand Post

ENGAGEMENT (sponsored by NZ Safety Blackwoods)

- Comvita
- Fletcher Living
- Foodstuffs North Island
- Redwoods Treewalk & Altitude

INNOVATION (sponsored by Anthony Harper)

- DairyNZ
- Fonterra (MFU)
- McConnell Dowell Warkworth to Snells Transfer
- Stevenson Aggregates and Fulton Hogan

SAFETY-II (sponsored by HSE Global)

- Cassidy Construction
- Department of Corrections
- Meridian Energy
- Yili Oceania Business Division

COLLABORATION (sponsored by IMPAC)

- Brian Perry Civil and CentrePort
- Northpower
- Pedersen Group
- Port Industry Fatigue Working Group

GOVERNANCE (sponsored by NZAAE)

- Fletcher Building
- Government Health & Safety Lead
- Ministry for Primary Industries

LEADERSHIP (sponsored by ACC)

- Coda Group
- Fletcher Building
- New Zealand Rugby Union
- Tranzit Coachlines

PRACTITIONER (sponsored by NZISM)

- Dave Young, Link Alliance
- Joanne Bradley, C3
- Louise Punt, Foodstuffs North Island
- Rachael Johnston, Comvita

EMERGING PRACTITIONER (sponsored by edenfx HSE recruitment)

- Brittny O'Hanlon, Air New Zealand
- Jocelyn Lindner, Clutha District Council
- Parvathy Nair, Auckland Airport
- Silva Harman, C3

REPRESENTATIVE

- Beth Williamson, Boffa Miskell
- Henrietta Horvath, Indevin Group
- Jarrod Constantine, March Cato
- Leanne Holmes, C3

MENTAL HEALTH CHAMPION (sponsored by Site Safe)

- Jenny Harrison, WSP
- Louise Barry, Foodstuffs North Island
- Pauline Cox, New Zealand Post
- Sirr Christoffersen, Auckland Transport

LEADER (sponsored by Business Leaders' Health & Safety Forum)

- Brendon Main, New Zealand Post
- Gavin O'Connor, Tūpore
- Leonard Sampson, Port of Tauranga
- Richard Marshall, Air New Zealand

SPECIAL COMMENDATION AWARD (sponsored by ecoPortal)

Two special commendation awards will be announced at the gala dinner.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT (sponsored by Woolworths New Zealand) Lifetime achievement awards will be presented to:

- Felicity Lamm, for her academic work as a researcher, teacher and inspirational mentor and for using her networking ability to help strengthen the health & safety ecosystem.
- George Adams, for his efforts in influencing leaders to better understand how health & safety underpins organisational performance and for helping to initiate positive change in the forestry sector.

THE WORKSAFE NEW ZEALAND/ACC BEST OVERALL CONTRIBUTION TO IMPROVING WORKPLACE HEALTH AND SAFETY IN NEW ZEALAND This award will be made to one of the winners of the organisational categories.

Contact

Peter Bateman, Safeguard editor

Phone: 021 028 40182 or email peter.bateman@thomsonreuters.com

To book tickets for the gala dinner: www.safeguard.co.nz/awards