

NZ Workplace Health & Safety Awards 2023: finalists announced

AUCKLAND, New Zealand, 11 May 2023

The finalists in the New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Awards for 2023 have been decided. The winners in each of the categories, and an overall winner, will be announced at a gala dinner at the Cordis Hotel in Auckland on 20 June.

The awards are organised by Thomson Reuters, publisher of Safeguard magazine, and proudly supported by WorkSafe New Zealand and ACC.

Since their inception in 2005 the awards have become established as the annual highlight for everyone involved in the prevention of work injury and ill-health.

Peter Bateman, Safeguard editor and convenor of the five-person judging panel, says this year's more than 150 entries demonstrate an encouragingly wide range of approaches to solving the challenges presented by work in all its variety.

"These awards serve two purposes: to publicly recognise good work, and to ensure good ideas are spread as widely as possible so that they inspire action elsewhere. The judges congratulate all finalists and we look forward to seeing their best work challenge existing thinking in the quest for continuous improvement."

The category finalists, in alphabetic order within category, are:

SAFETY (sponsored by Dentons Kensington Swan)

- Calder Stewart
- Martinus Rail NZ
- SeeDigital and Nexus Logistics

HEALTH (sponsored by WorkSafe New Zealand)

- Naylor Love Waikato/Bay of Plenty
- OMV NZ
- Switched On Housing

WELLBEING (sponsored by Vitae)

- Auckland City Mission
- Countdown
- KiwiRail

ENGAGEMENT (sponsored by NZ Safety Blackwoods)

- Auckland Council
- NZ Post
- Ports of Auckland
- Silver Fern Farms

INNOVATION (sponsored by Anthony Harper)

- C3
- New Zealand Defence Force and Aeropath
- Port of Tauranga
- Protranz Earthmoving

SAFETY-II (Sponsored by HSE Global)

- Ara Poutama Aotearoa/Department of Corrections
- March Cato
- New Zealand Steel

COLLABORATION (Sponsored by IMPAC)

- GEA NZ
- March Cato
- Ports of Auckland

GOVERNANCE (Sponsored by Simpson Grierson)

- Brosnan
- Silver Fern Farms
- Te Rūnanga Group

LEADERSHIP (Sponsored by ACC)

- KiwiRail
- NZ Fishing Health and Safety Forum
- Port Industry Association

PRACTITIONER (Sponsored by NZISM)

- Jen Dransfield, Naylor Love
- Pete Finegan, Master Electricians
- Vanessa Matakatea, Ports of Auckland

EMERGING PRACTITIONER (Sponsored by edenfx HSE Recruitment)

- Eva Greensill, Auckland City Mission
- Jake Deans, Pipeline & Civil
- Rachel Ennis, Central Otago District Council

REPRESENTATIVE (Sponsored by Vero Liability)

- James Poultney, Silver Fern Farms
- Nandor Mraz, KiwiRail
- Peter Pomale, Link Alliance

MENTAL HEALTH CHAMPION (Sponsored by Site Safe)

- David South, Naylor Love
- Millie Thompson, Government Health & Safety Lead
- Shelley Easton, Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency

LEADER (Sponsored by Business Leaders' Health & Safety Forum)

- Captain David Morgan, Air New Zealand
- Francois Dudouit, Link Alliance
- Joanne Reidy, Auckland City Mission

SPECIAL COMMENDATION AWARD (Sponsored by ecoPortal)

One special commendation award will be announced at the gala dinner.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT (Sponsored by Countdown)

Three lifetime achievement awards will be presented to:

Dr Chris Peace from Victoria University of Wellington Te Herenga Waka for his work highlighting the need for risk management and better risk standards, and for elevating the ambition of health & safety practitioners by mentoring them to aim for study at postgraduate level.

Anna Osborne and Sonya Rockhouse for using their Pike River experience to raise awareness of the need for higher safety and regulatory standards, greater justice in the system, and better treatment of the survivors of mass tragedies and their whānau.

The WorkSafe New Zealand/ACC best overall contribution to improving workplace health and safety in New Zealand

This award will be made to one of the winners of the organisational categories.

Contact

Peter Bateman, Safeguard editor

Phone: 021 028 40182 or email peter.bateman@thomsonreuters.com

To book tickets for the gala dinner: www.safeguard.co.nz